Close

Page 1 of 39 12311 ... LastLast

The build/re-build of Gruff

Hey all, thank you for taking the time to check out my build thread. Before I get started I want to first thank Eddie & Cindy for making this possible. I can't imagine how much time & energy you guys put into this website. It is awesome. Second, I want to thank all of the contributors out there for all of the great ideas I have picked up from all of you. I've waited a while to do this build thread so I could get my feet wet around the forum and get a feel for how everything works before I started. So after 2 months I still don't know squat but, oh well, on with the build...

I have a lot of background to fill in to get to where I am at now, so this will be the first of a couple of those....

We named our Jeep 'Gruff', from the old kids story, The Three Billy Goats Gruff, because, well, Jeeps can climb like billy goats. Additionally, my youngest daughter said that the Jeep was a he, and not a she. I had a build in mind and planned it out in 2014 during a very dark time for our family. I won't rehash my initial wave story when I joined WAL, but suffice it to say, this Jeep has a lot of my mother and father in it.

So, I surprised everyone one day by pulling into the driveway with this spindly little guy in June of 2014
    1.jpg

As far as options go I ordered Gruff from the factory with the hard top, towing package and that's it.

The initial build list was this:
    3.5" RE Superflex lift
    4:88 re-gear with G2 gears
    Smittybilt SRC front & XRC rear bumpers
    Smittybilt 12,000 winch
    Smittybilt bolt-on rock rails
    ProComp Xtreme MT2 37" tires
    Fuel Hostage 18 x 9 wheels
    Sleeve & gusset kit for front D30 axle
    Truck lite headlights (got one thing right so far)
    Spyder Auto tail lights.
    ProComp light bar
    Buswhacker Flat fenders because of Pa laws requiring wheels be covered.