Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Fresh Catch
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    3

    Angry 2011 Wrangler Unlimited P0868

    Hi Fellow Jeepers,

    I have a 2011 Wrangler Unlimited, 4' lift, 35's etc. I purchased this used a little while ago from a Jeep dealer and they sold it "as-is" due to the previous owner having put a turbo on it. Needless to say, after 10 days of owning the vehicle the engine blew and I took it back to the dealer which they worked with me and they dropped a new 3.8L V6 (was hoping for the new Pentastar but wasn't that lucky. After they installed the new engine, I told them to leave the turbo off so I make sure I don't run into the same issue. After getting my Jeep back, 2 weeks later by check engine light comes on and I run the code, P0868. I took it to a transmission place (even though the fluid was pink) and they flushed the trans, that didn't fix it, so they replaced the pressure switch and filters. Needless to say, after about 100 miles, my check engine light came back on and it's the same code. It shifts a little harder then normal sometimes, specifically when downshifting. Have any of you ran into this before? Any clues on how to fix it or if I should even worry about it?

    Thank you for your help!

    Cheers,

    UTJeeper

  2. #2
    Meme King WJCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    14,038
    Welcome to WAL. To start with, I don't see that having anything to do with the motor or old turbo. But as far as a code like that, it's up to you if you want to deal with it or live with it. It could be a number of things. But transmission problems don't usually fix themselves. The other tricky part is finding a good shop that can accurately diagnose it. From my experience, seems like a lot of transmission shops now days just want to put another unit in and be done with it.

  3. #3
    Fresh Catch
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by WJCO View Post
    Welcome to WAL. To start with, I don't see that having anything to do with the motor or old turbo. But as far as a code like that, it's up to you if you want to deal with it or live with it. It could be a number of things. But transmission problems don't usually fix themselves. The other tricky part is finding a good shop that can accurately diagnose it. From my experience, seems like a lot of transmission shops now days just want to put another unit in and be done with it.
    Thanks for the quick reply. That's what's funny, the shop literally told me "let's do a quick maintenance at $140 and put new fluids in and that should fix it." Then after it didn't they said "Let's replace the pressure switch and filters as I am sure that's the issue...$300 later" After my light came back on, I called them and they said "I am not surprised with the Turbo that was on there that it messed up your transmission and you will need a new one for $2700." Is there anything I should be concerned about with just living with it? Like Limp Mode or anything? Or will it eventually just burn up and I will have to replace it?

    Do you think it could just be a programming thing with the computer?

  4. #4
    Meme King WJCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    14,038
    Quote Originally Posted by UTJeeper View Post
    That's what's funny, the shop literally told me "let's do a quick maintenance at $140 and put new fluids in and that should fix it." Then after it didn't they said "Let's replace the pressure switch and filters as I am sure that's the issue...$300 later" After my light came back on, I called them and they said "I am not surprised with the Turbo that was on there that it messed up your transmission and you will need a new one for $2700."
    While doing the fluid and filters first isn't a bad idea, it sure sounds like they're now throwing parts at it and not diagnosing it.

    Quote Originally Posted by UTJeeper View Post
    Is there anything I should be concerned about with just living with it? Like Limp Mode or anything? Or will it eventually just burn up and I will have to replace it?
    Again, it's up to you. If symptoms get worse, I would try to get it into a trans shop. You may want to look on Yelp or use other resources to find a decent transmission shop in your area that may be able to diagnose it. And ultimately, it really could be an expensive trans problem, I just don't trust a lot of shops anymore because so many want to just put a transmission in it.

    There's also the labor/parts cost to rebuild one that is realistic though. If you can get a reman unit with a better warranty for 2700 bucks opposed to having them rebuild it for 2000 with a lesser warranty, then obviously it's not a bad idea to just replace the thing.

    Quote Originally Posted by UTJeeper View Post
    Do you think it could just be a programming thing with the computer?
    It is possible. If it is a programming issue, I would take it to a reputable dealer, but call ahead of time and tell them the history and get a feel for if they will even attempt to help you with the issue. It would be pretty sweet if a TCM update or something could fix your issue.

  5. #5
    Addict catahoula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,884
    I'd ask for your money back it they did not fix issue that they said would fix it. I had a couple of places give me the run around
    with mine. Got money back from one and waiting on the other. Also, is that the only code it ran?

    Sent from my XT1080 using WAYALIFE mobile app
    Gots
    17-Inch Rubi Wheels
    32" BFG KM M/T's 255/75/17 Tires
    18/59 Springs & Rubi Shocks
    TF Leveling Kit
    1.5" Spidertrax Spacers
    Warn Rock Crawler Stubby & Engo 9000 Winch
    EVO Mfg Rear Bolt On "D" Ring Mounts
    EVO Mfg Rear Corner Rock Skins
    Rough Country Skids

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do...
    Explore. Dream. Discover."

    "Take a compass, because it's always awkward when you have to eat a friend."

  6. #6
    Fresh Catch
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by catahoula View Post
    I'd ask for your money back it they did not fix issue that they said would fix it. I had a couple of places give me the run around
    with mine. Got money back from one and waiting on the other. Also, is that the only code it ran?

    Sent from my XT1080 using WAYALIFE mobile app
    Thank you for the responses! Yes this is the only code it's throwing. But now the light went off and I used my scanner to see the code is still in there but the lights not on. My thoughts are just to run it until I have serious issues and have to replace it. Anyone see any issues with that? And I'm going to call and ask them to kindly refund my money since they didn't "fix" anything gen though they said they diagnosed it and the switch replacement was supposed to "fix" it.


    Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app



Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •