Whine Sound while trying to Start Engine

Charlie Mike

This past weekend, I drove to the post office to drop off some mail. Probably took less than 3 minutes to drop off my mail and get back in my Jeep. Put the key in the ignition and turned it to start my Jeep, then I heard high pitched whine sound. It sounded like the engine wasn't turning over. I stopped, gave it a few seconds, and tried again. Same thing happened. Waited a little longer this time and tried once more. Same thing. I'm no mechanic, but I opened the hood anyways trying to look for something obvious. Everything looked OK. Every connection or wire harness I saw, I gave a little wiggle and made sure everything wasn't loose. (I doubt I did anything to actually fix it). Closed the hood and waited a few minutes this time. I turned the key, and there was half a second where it sounded like the engine was trying to turn over and then bingo, the engine started.

Any ideas? Something I can try to prevent this? Some preventative maintenance? I hate thinking "Oh Well. It started now, must be good."
Thanks! :beer:

Edit:
I have about 65,000 Miles on my Jeep JK.

Army_Vet

Banned