Siping?

Jeep_Dawg08

Saw a post earlier this week and someone mentioned sipjng their tires.
So I asked myself what the hell is siping?

Did some research on a cpl of sites and found my answer.

Now to my question..
Does it really benefit the ride, traction, and wear of ur tires. Looking at gett ok ng a new set before winter hits and I might as well do it if its worth it.
I would think cutting into the nubs would cause damage, but then again I'm new to off-roading...
Ty

Saw a post earlier this week and someone mentioned sipjng their tires.
So I asked myself what the hell is siping?

Did some research on a cpl of sites and found my answer.

Now to my question..
Does it really benefit the ride, traction, and wear of ur tires. Looking at gett ok ng a new set before winter hits and I might as well do it if its worth it.
I would think cutting into the nubs would cause damage, but then again I'm new to off-roading...
Ty

I had to look up siping to find out what you are looking for. In my humble opinion if you are buying a new set of tires this would already be done by the manufature. I have done some research myself on my next set of tires and will probably go with the Nitto Trail Grappler or the Toyo Open Country MT because they have the best ride on pavement and handle really well off-road.

I am going to subscribe to this thread to see where it goes.

R/
Will

SDG

Caught the Bug
Does it really benefit the ride: No

traction: Yes in rain and snow/ice, worse on hot dry street conditions

wear:minimal effect

Says you are from southern Indiana, I used to live in Lafayette and honestly we got so little snow that my MT's with 0 siping were fine, ice... well I tried to stay off the road (more because I was scared of other drivers!)

If you lived in northern michigan, or somewhere with snow and ice on the road for a couple months I would look at something like the goodyear duratrack but I think based on where you live you are fine with whatever.

Last edited:

JKWrang