kc light wiring help

brizon85

Hey guys I was wondering if someone can help me with an issue I have. I'm new to the electronics and wiring mods and was unsure of the compatibility of a toggle switch I have that is 20 amps and 12v. the switch is for some kc apollo pro lights. The issue I have is that the wiring harness has 3 wires for the kc switch (which I'm not using) a green (load) a white (supply) and the brown (ground). The toggle switch I bought has only 2 prongs on the back and does not have an led light. My question is : will this switch still work and is the green (load) wire not needed for my install? ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1380836262.937458.jpg
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1380836281.183467.jpg

2k13jk

I know alot of people recommend running a realy but to make your wiring issue easy the black wire coming off the lights is a ground wire so ground those out to somewere metal on metal and the red the wires coming off the lights are power i usually run those 2 wires into 1 thick wire like 14 gauge. After i connect the 2 wires to 1 solid one ill run it to a 2 prong switch and then simply run a wire from the positive side of the battery to the other prong on the switch and i never have a problem with the lights. Also if its a 3 prong switch its the same way to wire but youll run a ground from a prong on the switch ground it out and the light will turn on inside the switch letting you know that your lights are on

WhiteDynamite