Loctite

Dr. Satan

I will be installing a 2.5" lift next week. I searched a couple of forums, should I use Loctite on any of the suspension bolts? I'm not seeing it mentioned in the lift instructions.
Thanks

jeeeep

Hooked
I wouldn't, if the Loctite sets too fast you won't be torqued accurately to specs. Also if you use to heavy duty Loctite it may require heat to remove then if you have to do any on trail repairs you'll hate yourself...

get a paint pen and mark your bolt/nut, you'll be able to see quickly if anything has loosened

jeffd

I would absolutely use locktite. I have been using lock tite for 40 years and never had a problem removing nuts and bolts that have been lock tited. Blue lock tite also acts like anti sieze as far as keeping nuts and bolts from corroding together so actually make them easier to remove when you want to yet keeps them together when you don't. a drop of red locktite keeps things secure and you will still be able to break it free if needed.

BBrown626

I would absolutely use locktite. I have been using lock tite for 40 years and never had a problem removing nuts and bolts that have been lock tited. Blue lock tite also acts like anti sieze as far as keeping nuts and bolts from corroding together so actually make them easier to remove when you want to yet keeps them together when you don't. a drop of red locktite keeps things secure and you will still be able to break it free if needed.

What he said.

Your probably not going to be doing a lot of suspension maintenance on the trail, unless things are coming loose.
I had problems with sway bar links coming loose after proper torquing. A drop of locktite fixed them once and for all. I am sure they will come off with a little extra oomph when i want them too. I used Honda's thread locker on some, but locktite brand on others.

Ok. Now we are 50/50 so I'm back to loctite or no loctite!