RedPatchJeff's 08 JK Build Thread

redpatchjeff

Hey guys. I'm new to Wayalife, but not new to jeeps. A little back story.....

I grew up around jeeps - had a 71 CJ-5, then an 89 wrangler sahara, endless cherokees and a grand cherokee.

In 2009, I bought a stock 97 TJ, with a 2.5l and some ugly ass rims :cheesy: quickly traded those off for some cragar soft 8's....

IMG00002-20100131-1124.jpg

Wheeled it like this.....

IMG00028-20100220-1003.jpg

Then built it up so it eventually became this:

163637_492666259028_666644028_5900881_1121162_n.jpg

Fully locked, winches, armor, etc. Wheeled it all over OH, IN, WV, and KY.

Then, I moved to Chicago and sold it - stupid mistake on my part.

About a year went by, and I got the bug again. Picked up this gem a little less than a month ago - an 08 sahara with low miles, freedom top, and 3.73 gears.

photo (1).JPG

My goal with this one is to be just as capable as the last, but it's also my daily driver, so it needs to be functional and somewhat comfortable. It is my dream to make it to JKX by 2015.

Here's my plan:

First round of mods (to be completed by March of 2014):

Teraflex 3" lift
35" tires on a 17" rim
4.88 Gears
Lockers
front axle gussets and sleeves
CB
RH cage
Intake
Exhaust
Winch
Bumpers (front and rear)
Misc. Skidplates

Second round of mods:

EVO Bolt on CO kit
PR44 front
5.13 Gears
37" tires
Beadlocks

Some of you may be asking "why go with a standard lift when you're going to CO's down the road?" - Well, my friends, budget is an issue - but also is the issue of learning to wheel a JK as opposed to a TJ. They're wider, higher, longer, and heavier. I need to understand how it will react on a standard coil sprung lift before I pull the trigger on the CO kit, even though it is my ultimate goal. I don't want to be the guy that throws a bunch of money at his Jeep, only to not know how to wheel it properly.