Better carburetor for the 258

Texas Jeep Guy

Hey y'all I am looking to put a new carb on my 87 4.2L, I had asked on another forum and got a link to a guy on eBay for a motor craft 2150, comes with all the required parts including the mount( which I have heard is hard to come by) he also includes step by step instructions and his home phone number just in case of questions,he also will put in jets and adjust it as much as he can, depending if you want a offroad carb or a daily driver or even both, also shows how to tune it, so here's where I'm worried, there have been people on forums that I have talked to that said the have received faulty parts, not enough parts, and they have said his instructions suck and that he is not good at communicating, what are y'all's thoughts? What are some good carbs besides the motor craft? I have little experience with carbs so I apologize for the stupid questions, here is that eBay link as well
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-MotorCr...d=100011&prg=8262&rk=2&rkt=5&sd=321162595854&

locrwln

The 2100 can be a decent carb, but even at it's best, it's still a carb. I had a '90 YJ with the 258 and I couldn't stand the factory carb. I ended up putting the Howell FI kit on mine and it was one of the best things I ever did for that Jeep. If you can, save your money and put a TBI injection system on it. The driveability is much, much improved.

Jack

Woody3

The 2100 can be a decent carb, but even at it's best, it's still a carb. I had a '90 YJ with the 258 and I couldn't stand the factory carb. I ended up putting the Howell FI kit on mine and it was one of the best things I ever did for that Jeep. If you can, save your money and put a TBI injection system on it. The driveability is much, much improved.

Jack

I know the OP didn't ask about FI, and I have no personal experience with your particular motor or carb but my boss just put FI in his jeep and loves it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jeep monkey