Amateur needs help

Texasjeep01

Be gentle because I am new to wheeling and new to jeeps (this past summer is when I got it). I've been wheeling 2 times now and I was wondering what I needed to upgrade first before I break it. I have new control arms and upgraded thick welded brackets. I have 33's and a 4.5 inch lift and that's about it. My gears are 3.07 and I have 2001 TJ sport. My friend says I need to sleeve and gusset my axles. Any tips and advice like that would be greatly appreciated!

Brankz

Be gentle because I am new to wheeling and new to jeeps (this past summer is when I got it). I've been wheeling 2 times now and I was wondering what I needed to upgrade first before I break it. I have new control arms and upgraded thick welded brackets. I have 33's and a 4.5 inch lift and that's about it. My gears are 3.07 and I have 2001 TJ sport. My friend says I need to sleeve and gusset my axles. Any tips and advice like that would be greatly appreciated!

4.5 lift!? You will need a new driveshaft ASAP

pvanweelden

Brankz- tj not jk
You will want to look at getting a sye if you don't have one yet, and that means a new cv rear driveshaft

pvanweelden

Are you going any bigger tire size wise?
regearing to 4.10 would help your 4.0 with those 33's, but that isn't cheap.
Gussets I would recommend, but not sleeves.
What rearend do you have? 33's can tear up a dana 35 if you are heavy on the skinny pedal
uploadfromtaptalk1389499437492.jpg

Texasjeep01

Are you going any bigger tire size wise?
regearing to 4.10 would help your 4.0 with those 33's, but that isn't cheap.
Gussets I would recommend, but not sleeves.
What rearend do you have? 33's can tear up a dana 35 if you are heavy on the skinny pedal
View attachment 64108

I have all stock underneath, so I do have a dana 35 but I try not to go too hard on it. What about my axle shafts or my knuckles?

pvanweelden