Artec truss and gussets

2trackin

I picked some up for the d44. Plan to remove the the axle for best access to clean up and weld. I personally wont be doing the welding, although I have done alot myself. I just dont have the equipment, so a friend of mine will be doing it for me.
Has anyone else done these and have any helpful advice. Other than the obvious welding no no's.
For anyone that is unaware, this is what I bought. Well, just the truss and gussets, not the trackbar mount.
armor3.jpg

NFRs2000NYC

Caught the Bug
I am no expert on axles or welding, but the one common thing I keep reading is to go slow....real slow as to not heat up the axle to the point of warping.

Majik

Just did mine myself. Including the rear. It really is nicely made by artec and the cuts are very precise. I sleeved the front first with an Evo setup including their control arm mount skids and C-gussets. So with approx 0.5" thick axle tubes, when the artec truss was welded, warpage was much less likely. That's about as stout as I can build a D44! :) I really do like how the upper control arm mount on the passenger side is so much stronger now with that truss welded all around it. My advice is to remember to use a torch to preheat the cast center section when you weld to it. It's just easy insurance.

Majik

Oh, and don't forget to double check or just replace your inner axle seals. The ones just outside the carrier bearings. If you heat the casting too much, you can damage the seal. I didn't remove mine but monitored them throughout the process and they only got mildly warm.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Good luck. I personally wouldn't have wasted my money on a truss especially being that I have seen more axle BENT because of them than not. You can take all the time in the world and have the most experienced welder doing the work but even at that, I only know a few in the industry who know how to do it right and even at that, it's a best guess at best.

2trackin