What are the Do's and Dont's after new gear install.

steve_r2

As this is the first time I have re- geared what are the Do's and Dont's I need to do ? Being a total noob to this.
JK 09 Auto 4 door being fitted with 4.88s
I have read it somewhere but can not find it again.
After the first 100 miles is it ok to do some light wheeling or do I have to wait for the full 500 miles and check ?
Appreciate any help.

cozdude

Guy with a Red 2-Door
i would wait at least the first 500 till you even put it in 4hi. thats what i was told by my installer. so no off-roading till then. also be very easy on the throttle the first 500. give the gears 4-5 good heat cycles, so drive say 15-20 miles then sit and let your axles/gears cool down for at least an hour before going another 15-20 miles. i personally did almost 10 heat cycles before i went for a longer distance drive.

pastorwug

After the install at ORE Drew told me to make sure I don't go over 55 mph as I had to drive 200 miles home. I stopped several times along Malibu Hwy 1 and took a leisurely time. He said absolutly no towing for the first 500 miles.
After the gear oil change at 500 miles he said do anything I want - and so I have - rock climbing, fire roads, towing, etc. and they are wonderful.
He said the big key is go slow, no towing, no offroad for 500 miles.

I went from 4.11 to 5.13s

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
As mentioned, go easy on the gas for the first 500 and then do a open over differential inspection and oil change. I wouldn't worry so much about shifting into 4HI but, would make sure to still go easy on things.

jkuone

I've got 130 miles on since I re geared, taking it easy all good so far.hard to refrain from playing with new ARB locker in rear but I will till broke in...

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
I've got 130 miles on since I re geared, taking it easy all good so far.hard to refrain from playing with new ARB locker in rear but I will till broke in...