Caster help please…..again !

steve_r2

Ok…..had an issue with driveline vibrations after doing gear swap to 4.88's
Ended up changing front and rear drive shafts, engine and transmission mounts.
Vibrations were a lot less but still there. Had alignment done and found I was way off R to L.
Then decided to get rid of my AEV drop correction brackets and get adjustable front lower control arms (Teraflex).
Shop has now aligned caster to 4.4* both sides……however on driving still get low grade vibration from 65 mph onwards….
So do I try and bring the caster back closer to 4.2* to help eliminate this vibration completely ? or increase it ?
All bearings, bushings, torque etc have been checked and are ok….post gear change inspection is fine as well.
I have read Eddies write up on caster adjustment…. and though seems straight forward just not sure I am confident of getting right as yet (total noob at this !!)

2009 JKU Auto, AEV 2.5 " suspension, Teraflex front lower adjustable control arms, 33's measuring 31.5"(E rated), winch and Warn bumper

Cheers
Steve

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Have you actually tried removing your front drive shaft and drive around without it to verify that it is in fact the cause of your vibrations? I'm pretty sure I had recommended this before and doing so will allow you to solve problems without having to throw more money at your Jeep.

steve_r2

Have you actually tried removing your front drive shaft and drive around without it to verify that it is in fact the cause of your vibrations? I'm pretty sure I had recommended this before and doing so will allow you to solve problems without having to throw more money at your Jeep.
Hi Eddie.....sorry I did do as you recommended and drive shaft was removed ...vibration still there. Have now dialled my caster into 4.2 *.
It's now negligible.......probably being picky and looking for fault but things like this really bug me .
As I am learning all this as we go so please bare with me....

wayoflife