Building a weather proof trunk cover.

JKDriver

I am not sure you will be able to consider this a 'How to" type write up, since I tend to do things the 'hard way". Also, since I am a hobbyist wooden boat builder, its pretty tool intensive.
These are what I am normally building in here...
IMG_1353.jpg

Also, I own a decorative concrete and commercial coatings company, so I have access to and expertise in the application of epoxies and urethanes, so those materials will make their way into this project.

Anyway, I have been planning to build a cover for the deck of my daily driver '07 JKU for a while. I carry some fairly expensive tools back there and am constantly getting caught in rain due to my poor planning. But now that I am installing a stereo system, i need someplace to put the components, so this project moved up the list.

So, what I need is a cover that is extremely weather proof and lockable. I also want it to look "factory" when completed, which means it will be Raptor lined like my interior.
So here we go:
Templates under construction:

IMG_1119.jpg

Working up to the back seats and around the roll bar..
IMG_0049.jpg

Creating a lip to keep water from running forward into the cab.
IMG_0053.jpg

Once the cutting and fitting is done the wood will be epoxy primed, fiberglass coated, then urethane coated with Raptor Liner.

IMG_0051.jpg

Last edited:

JKDriver

Starting work on the lid. First building a coaming that incorporates a "locking hatch"...
IMG_0067.jpg

IMG_0077.jpg

IMG_0072.jpg

IMG_0071.jpg

The darker wood for the coaming and band around the lid is well dried cherry. Very hard and heavy. Under the lid there are 3 parallel ribs, 2 inch by 2 inch, to help keep it strong and straight.

The back end is the difficult part, working around the knobs that tighten the rear window bar down on my Off Road Hero's top...
IMG_0076.jpg

JKDriver

The hinges, shocks, and lock are done.
IMG_0082.jpg

IMG_0083.jpg

Here is basically how it will look buttoned up.