6 speed wont go into reverse

squigmang

Hey guys,
Ive been having an issue with getting into reverse the past week or so. It only happens in the morning, after the jeep has been sitting all night. It will go into every gear but reverse. This morning it took me about 3 mins to finally get it to engage. Once I drive it for a bit, it will work perfectly.
Any ideas? It is a 2010 JKUR with 60,000 kms
thanks in advance

BlackKnight

Hey guys,
Ive been having an issue with getting into reverse the past week or so. It only happens in the morning, after the jeep has been sitting all night. It will go into every gear but reverse. This morning it took me about 3 mins to finally get it to engage. Once I drive it for a bit, it will work perfectly.
Any ideas? It is a 2010 JKUR with 60,000 kms
thanks in advance

Have you changed out the transmission oil? maybe is getting a little dirty and is taking a bit to push the dirty fluid through the valving. But I'm no expert...

cozdude

Guy with a Red 2-Door
Have you changed out the transmission oil? maybe is getting a little dirty and is taking a bit to push the dirty fluid through the valving. But I'm no expert...

i think you maybe right. dirty/old tranny oil could be the issue. same type of thing happened in my brothers car where he couldnt shift the auto tranny into gear. found out that he just needs a tranny flush and it works flawlessly again

Bacon

Valving in a six speed? Not saying dirty fluid isn't the problem, but I don't believe fluid through valves should be an issue for the manual. But I can honestly say I have never had one apart and who knows what Chrysler is up to these days...

How does the clutch feel? Any throw-out bearing noise? It seems the clutch barely moves enough to get the synchros lined up to begin with. Even the slightest leak or throw-out bearing issue could be making this worse.

madgunnermaurer

My 2013 is a pain sometimes to get in reverse. I have to double clutch it just to get it in sometimes.