ReGearing Questions???

Ant's JK

Just looking for some information and help regards to re gearing. I have a 2012 2dr manual sport with a 3.5" lift. I plan to get 35s within the next 2 months. Ive been reading about re gearing but I have some questions about it: Will re gearing have a negative effect on my motor running stock tires? Which gear ratio is ideal for 35s ? What effect will re gearing have on the engine in the long run? Or should I just run the stock 3.21s? I do plan on putting a E-locker in the rear 44 also. I'm sorry if some of these questions sound dumb I just don't know much about re-gearing and i don't want to ruin my vehicle mechanically.

MR.Ty

Token East Coast Guy
regear.jpg

Here is the chart that will help you. As far as I know it will help the life of the engine because it won't be working as hard to turn the bigger tires. BUT I am not an expert in that particular field. As far as the Locker, I would recommend you do it at the same time as regears since your diff will be open anyways. Hope this helps

EDIT: wait wrong chart.

jeeeep

Hooked
Just looking for some information and help regards to re gearing. I have a 2012 2dr manual sport with a 3.5" lift. I plan to get 35s within the next 2 months. Ive been reading about re gearing but I have some questions about it: Will re gearing have a negative effect on my motor running stock tires? Which gear ratio is ideal for 35s ? What effect will re gearing have on the engine in the long run? Or should I just run the stock 3.21s? I do plan on putting a E-locker in the rear 44 also. I'm sorry if some of these questions sound dumb I just don't know much about re-gearing and i don't want to ruin my vehicle mechanically.

plan on regear after the tires, with your manual you can get by with your gears on 35's, it'll be a little sluggish but not as noticeable with a manual

you'll want a tuner to correct your speedo, tire size and set the correct gear ratio once you regear.