Bump steer after 4.5" Rubicon Express SuperFlex

08GumbyJKU

Had the 4" rancho with jks track bar and factory drag link. Now that I have all rubicon express it's got way more response through the steering and every little bump or dip the wheel turns. Not what I was expecting from this lift. My track bar drag link angles look pretty close to perfect as they can get.. What gives? Everything's torqued and tightened down, wheels straight. What am I missing? It's got the rubicon express track bar drop, and the chromoly drag link and adjustable track bar from RE.
E9BCB3DC-947F-4B46-AC70-CDFC82E02AEE_zpszpkwagbw.jpg

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Cant tell for sure but, is it safe to assume your drag link is flipped? At least, it sure looks like it as the spread between your track bar and drag link is significant. Removing your track bar frame bracket and installing a relocation bracket at the axle will help mitigate what you're feeling now.

I am no expert by any means but I just went through some symptoms similar to yours and I think we all explain or describe what we feel differently. For me it was Castor. you might what to check to make sure you have enough, even 1 degree can make a difference.

08GumbyJKU

It's just very odd to me. I took this lift off a '13 JKU before it was installed on mine, and the steering was tight and didn't shimmy/bump steer. Just quite confused because the quality and engineering of this lift surpasses Rancho, and my thoughts were it would be better in every aspect. (which is it, handles like it did stock, just the steering is not how it should be)

08GumbyJKU

It is going to get re-aligned tomorrow since all my usual shops were booked yesterday. Hopefully that'll fix it.

olram30

Not That Kind of Engineer