After Mudding Care and Questions

Rryanstauffer

I don't know if yall have heard but Arizona just was pummeled with crazy amounts of rain for Arizona. We do not get a lot of rain so this was a rare treat and I could not wait to get it offroad to splash around in the mud. So my jeep is pretty well stock besides a few of the cheaper and DIY mods. I was having a blast in the mud but I noticed that once I was finished and pulled out, :brows: I could hear a high pitched almost like a whistling sound upon acceleration. The sound is hard to describe but I definitely noticed the change right after driving through a lot of mud and water. I never went to deep but while I was going pretty hard out there my check engine light flashed like three times and didn't come back on but it scared me and ending my day early....

Any insight would be appreciated, also some insight on how to go about cleaning my engine bay because it is coated under there....
I'm not a mechanic but am pretty handy so I just need some guidance!

Thanks

Sharkey

Word Ninja
Is your Jeep automatic or standard? If it is a standard, did you depress the clutch at all while in the mud/water? Also, were you blasting through the water? Did you get water into the air box?

Rryanstauffer

It is automatic and sorry yes I was blasting through the water and it is possible that some water got into the air box

Last edited:

cozdude

Guy with a Red 2-Door
I would power wash the shit out of your underbelly and your brakes. I always need up finding rocks and mud caked all around the brake calipers.

firecrew1

got to love all our new lakes;)
like they said I would thoroughly wash the jeep, and check the airbox for water

jeeeep

Hooked