Stubby bumpers...law enforcement issues?

JayKay

Caught the Bug
Anyone have any issues with law enforcement and stubby bumpers/rear bumper delete? I know things seem to be more strict in CA and other southwestern states as far as mud flaps, but what about in the Midwest? Particularly MO. I'm a certified MO safety inspector, but of course I'd pass my own modded Jeep on safety inspection :). Do any fellow Missourians have any issues as far as the 5-0 pulling them over for bumper violations. In the Highway Patrol inspector handbook it states that any bumper should have the same structural integrity and extend as far as the OE bumper. Reason I ask is that I plan on installing a stubby/shorty bumper and removing the rear bumper in the future. Just don't want any issues with the police.

StrizzyChris

This post is pointless and provides no factual information or advice based on experience!

that being said.....

I would imagine that almost no-one except an Jeep enthusiast cop would know how wide an OEM Bumper is...so I'd say you'd be safe with a rear bumper as wide as the body only. The issue you'll have is the rear tires being exposed and THAT is where cops ding people the most on mud flaps. I'm running pretty wide, but have a stock rear bumper, and have no issues with the police thus far regarding mud flaps. My guess is because the OEM is so wide that it covers the majority of the rear tire.

JayKay

Caught the Bug
This post is pointless and provides no factual information or advice based on experience!

that being said.....