How To: So you got a dent and want to fix it.

scull20

Let me preface this with the following:

1. I have never done auto-body work before.
2 I have never done auto-body work before.
3. I've never done body work before.
4. The techniques displayed in this write-up are a combination of a handful of YouTube videos and some coaching a week beforehand by a friend of mine who is well versed in body work.
5. If you see something here that makes you cringe, please suggest a better method.

Tools used:
1. Stud welder kit, with slide hammer (Harbor Freight, HF)
2. Body Hammers (HF)
3. 1 Qt. of Bondo brand body filler (HF)
4. 2 small packs of body filler spreaders (HF)
5. Mixing board (get a handful of disposable ones from a body supply store)
5. Palm Sander (I had one already, pick your favorite)
6. Angle Grinder (HF)
7. 80 Grit Flap Disc (HF)
8. Pack of 100 Grit Sanding Sheets (Home Depot, HD)
9. Pack of 200 Grit Sanding Sheets (HD)
10. Pack of 400 Grit Sanding Sheets (HD)
11. Pack of 600 Grit Sanding Sheets (HD)
12. 2 Sheets of 1000 Grit, Wet/Dry sanding Sheets (Body shop supply)
13. Automotive Primer, Rattle Can (HF)
14. Single stage rattle can of your body paint color, in my cause Bright White: PW7 (Auto body supply will mix this for you...about $30, make sure to specify single stage as it has the base coat and clear coat mixed together.)
15. End-nippers (HF)
16. Nitrile gloves (HF)
17. Painters Tape/Newspaper for masking.
18. Sanding block
19. Rubbing compound

Step 1: Get a dent (this was an oops on my part while going up a hill and over a rock...slid off the rock and back into it, pushing/scratching this panel pretty well.)
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1412039608.186708.jpg

Step 2: Grind the dent. Take the angle grind with the 80 grit flap disc and grind the dented area plus the surrounding area down to bare metal.
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1412039641.401674.jpg