Aluminum evo corners/armor

JKJody

So evo finally released these. Question, is the aluminum corners strong enough to support their tire carrier now? I know its a separate piece but I'm no engineer and would love to know. I may be going this route.......any thoughts?

JKJody

Maybe. I been looking at the evo a bit more. Now, i like the fact that aev opens with the gate and holds fuel tucked up in a nice place, however i came down on it pretty hard navigating the old sluice on the rubicon. Just about took the tire off the carrier. Also the bolt that secures the spindle to the housing is chewed up bad because its location. With that said not sure about the aev at this point.

GCM 2

can the skins be anodized?

It's alumimum, I would think like all other aluminum, it can be anodized. That's a costly option for something that when it gets scuffed up, and you want to repair it, will have to be removed, sanded/smooth, cleaned and re anodized. It's why people either leave it raw or paint it.

Last edited:

SmokinV10

Caught the Bug
Maybe. I been looking at the evo a bit more. Now, i like the fact that aev opens with the gate and holds fuel tucked up in a nice place, however i came down on it pretty hard navigating the old sluice on the rubicon. Just about took the tire off the carrier. Also the bolt that secures the spindle to the housing is chewed up bad because its location. With that said not sure about the aev at this point.

I liked the concept of the AEV design and generally liked the AEV carrier when I had it. Its a great concept to have their fuel caddy tucked away but the system started to have some issues with a 37" tire. I know it is said to handle a 37" tire, but that heavier tire would wobble terribly when shutting the door. Also There is a nut used to tighten/snug-up the spindle holding the tire, that would come loose and cause rattling.

The EVO carrier isn't as easy to open/close but it is solid as a rock and doesn't rattle one bit with a 40" tire.