3.8 engine Full synthetic or conventional?

M_Savage

Caught the Bug
Ok guys I have always put my trust in paying other to change my oil. But tomorrow I am going to do it myself. However I am a little concerned since it's my first time. My question, after read some threads and videos, is do I need to use synthetic or is standard conventional oil going to work? I bought 5w20 Valvoline conventional oil today but am second guessing due to many using Mobile 1 and other full synthetic.

NFRs2000NYC

Caught the Bug
Ok guys I have always put my trust in paying other to change my oil. But tomorrow I am going to do it myself. However I am a little concerned since it's my first time. My question, after read some threads and videos, is do I need to use synthetic or is standard conventional oil going to work? I bought 5w20 Valvoline conventional oil today but am second guessing due to many using Mobile 1 and other full synthetic.

You can use conventional, nothing wrong with it. Personally, I run full synthetic on all my vehicles, for better wear protection, longer life, and lower breakdown. The 3.6L runs noticeably smoother when you feed it synthetic. I noticed an INSTANT improvement when I switched to Mobil 1 on my 2012. If you already bought it, go ahead and run it. On the next one, swing by costco and pick up a case of Mobil1 for $30. Walmart has awesome deals on Mobil1 as well. As for which brand, Mobil1 is generally the best you can get over the counter, while Amsoil is the best period...but, any big brand full synthetic is going to be of good quality...so, when selecting the oil you want to run, get any big brand full synthetic that is the best deal....9 times out of 10, it's going to be Mobil1.

hydrohut