Rotating Tires x5?

Doplar

Hello all,

I've owned my jeep almost a year- and I'm nearing 15k miles. I was thinking about rotating my tires. Should I, or can I rotate my 5th (never used) tire? At some point when I buy new tires I don't intent to keep the size that came with the jeep. I hope to be ready for a lift and some new 35s.

I appreciate any insight. I'm still new to doing my own jeep upkeep.

thanks.

Jeep 2014
Anvil
No extras (yet!!)

JAGS

Hooked
Hello all,

I've owned my jeep almost a year- and I'm nearing 15k miles. I was thinking about rotating my tires.

So you've gone 15k without ever rotating????

Or are you asking if you can/should now rotate in your spare even though your other tires have 15K on them? You should be rotating all tires every 3k-5k depending on your preference.

My :twocents: but at 15K, your likely about 1/3 through (or more) the general quality lifespan of the stock tires. I wouldn't rotate the spare in at this point. If you've never done a rotation, you should ASAP as no doubt you'll have uneven wear.

edit: overlander beat me.

cozdude

Guy with a Red 2-Door
You haven't rotated your tires in 15k miles? Yikes. I wouldn't rotate the spare at this point.

yikes! yea if you havent rotated in 15k its pointless to rotate in your spare now like overlander said. i rotate all 5 of my tires with every oil change (3k miles or so). i would just rotate 4 for now and when you get new tires do all 5

BlackKnight

yikes! yea if you havent rotated in 15k its pointless to rotate in your spare now like overlander said. i rotate all 5 of my tires with every oil change (3k miles or so). i would just rotate 4 for now and when you get new tires do all 5

Eeek! You change your oil every 3K??

I rotate tires and change oil at 7k. which will be this weekend, I just rolled 16500 (did my first oil change to full synth at 2500 to get the break in oil out)...

Last edited:

noroad