Max speeds in 4hi?

Knuckles76

I'm fairly new to 4x4s and was wondering what the max speed should be in 4hi and i guess while i'm at it 4low as well?
I've checked the internet and found a lot of different (I think responses) Any help is appreciated!

It ain't no fun if it ain't dirty! !

I'm fairly new to 4x4s and was wondering what the max speed should be in 4hi and i guess while i'm at it 4low as well?
I've checked the internet and found a lot of different (I think responses) Any help is appreciated!

I am not sure but Mel goes pretty fast in 4hi. For me I do not go over 40 but then again if I can go that fast I can probably do it in 2wd.

Sent from my fRuit product using WAYALIFE mobile app

Tigrcky

You drive train can handle any speed however like canvas said unless your desert racing there is no need for above 40 if you have a front selectable locker in the front I do not advise faster then 25 while locked!!! You won't turn.

Sent from my whatchamacallit

trailless

Caught the Bug
I remember reading that you can safely switch in and out of 4hi and 2hi up to 55mph.

I'm curious to know if there is a max speed for 4hi as well. I wouldn't think there is but I've been wrong plenty of times before.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using WAYALIFE mobile app

Last edited:

Knuckles76

My wife will be driving it often this winter and you can't explain the different feels of your rig unless you drive it often so i'm just trying to give her a number to not exceed.

Thanks for input gentlemen.

NFRs2000NYC

Caught the Bug
IMHO, (and this is for ON road)...if you can do 50mph, you don't need 4WD. I run 4hi on the road when conditions are really sketchy, and slip is almost guaranteed, so I generally don't go above 35mph. If I can go faster, it either means I don't need 4hi or I am going too fast for conditions. Oddly enough, during sh!t weather, most of the crashed vehicles are 4wd/awd, usually SUV's, because their drivers think they are invincible.

Mike_D