HOTOIL Warning while wheeling

Rryanstauffer

So I was out on a trail about a month back.... may have been in 4hi, can't remember exactly, on the 4 peaks trail in Arizona. I was climbing a hill then I got a chime and hotoil warning.... I took it out of 4hi and put it in neutral... The light eventually turned off but it really freaked me out because I didn't have an extinguisher readily available.

What could be the culprit and how do I avoid that? I am rather new to all of this and it really freaked me out about going back to 4 peaks.

Any insight would be appreciated on what I did wrong, should/shouldn't do....

I have a 2010 jku, pretty much stock

Cheers! :beer:

So I was out on a trail about a month back.... may have been in 4hi, can't remember exactly, on the 4 peaks trail in Arizona. I was climbing a hill then I got a chime and hotoil warning.... I took it out of 4hi and put it in neutral... The light eventually turned off but it really freaked me out because I didn't have an extinguisher readily available.

What could be the culprit and how do I avoid that? I am rather new to all of this and it really freaked me out about going back to 4 peaks.

Any insight would be appreciated on what I did wrong, should/shouldn't do....

I have a 2010 jku, pretty much stock

Cheers! :beer:

Do you have an automatic?

If so next time try putting the transmission in a specific gear instead of drive that will keep the transmission from working so hard looking for the right gear.

Moochie

It's telling you that your transmission fluid temp is getting hot. Stopping and putting it in neutral with the engine idling is what you are supposed to do. Until the light goes off and the fluid cools down.

While climbing on the dirt, it's a good idea to keep your RPMs near 3000. It might be necessary to put it into 4 low.

jeff_in_rc

We have had several people in our group of friends and club members experience the same thing. They were all JK's, with autos, in 4 hi, and in drive.