Aussie Locker

jango

I'm looking to buy an Aussie locker very soon. I have a 2012 JKU sport so D30 in the front and D44 in the rear and 3.21 gears. So my questions are about driving around with the locker in. Since the locker will always be on when in 4 wheel drive.. it sounds dangerous. Can you still go like 20 mph in 4 wheel high on dirt roads? How about snow? I would want to be able to still to use 4wd high at around 20-30 mph but would having the locker on cause some kinda accident damage?

ZuidJK

I have no experience with he Aussie locker, I am running Detroits now and if I had to do it again I would defiantly go with a selectable locker. If I am in 4wd high and driving in a snow storm or icy road the steering feels very pushy and flighty even when going straight. I have gotten used to it more this being my second winter with the full time lockers, but being in canada I'm eventually going to go ARB.

Why do you want to lock the front end? If anything I would just lock the rear a
Because of the size of the Ring and pinion.

I posed the same question about a year ago and he answer I received was do not waist the money because it will cause more breakage later.

xrocknrollx

I ran lunchbox lockers in my tj (powertrax no slip) after the factory limited slip failed. They made the jeep drive bad on pavement (locker forced emergency lane change) and even worse in snowy/icy conditions. On dirt was fine in 4wd, but to turn on the rocks in Moab I would need to go back to 2wd.

The only breakage of the locker was the pin, which broke on the rear twice. Simple fix to replace the pin and put in new springs.

After going the cheap route once, I would recommend spending the extra money on selectables.

Edit: I did run the lunchbox lockers for 6 years so it wasn't that bad after adjusting driving habits. But I still wouldn't go that route again.

Last edited:
I know several that run the Aussie Lockers and as far as this type goes I think it is one of the better ones.