2013 jk sport stuck in 4 high

Crjgregory2

I am new to jeeps. My 2013 jk sport has just over 20,000 miles. We went up to the mountains to take the kids sledding. We had it in 4 high and it handled great in the snow. When getting back on the road, it wouldn't drop back into 2 wheel drive. I reversed and hit the brakes. It dropped into two wheel. At home (where it is warmer) I put it in 4 high and had to do the same thing to get it back into 2 wheel drive. Should I trouble shoot anything, or does this sound like a transfer case cable issue? Any help would be appreciated.

jkuone

Could be a problem with the cheap plastic bushings on either end of the shifter cable.
Might give those a look at.....

07JKSahara

Probably just the quirk of all t cases. They sometimes need a tiny bit of SLOW movement to mesh.

Although, that cable is a pita in the cold. You might consider replacing it anyway, 1. Then you know how, and 2. you know you have the right tools.

Crjgregory2

Cable might have come off

Thank you for all the Replies. The cable and bushing are still intact at the transfer case. I assume they are in place at the shifter because I can get it to go into 4 high. It just doesn't come back out without a lot of swerving, or reversing with quick stops.

noroad

Thank you for all the Replies. The cable and bushing are still intact at the transfer case. I assume they are in place at the shifter because I can get it to go into 4 high. It just doesn't come back out without a lot of swerving, or reversing with quick stops.

Could be something like the vacuum switch or the seal on it, have you looked at the vent hose to make sure its not blocked?

Edit
Here is a good break down
http://www.jeep4x4center.com/jeep-transfer-case/wrangler-jk-nvg241-gen2.htm

Last edited:

Crjgregory2

Vaccum seal

Could be something like the vacuum switch or the seal on it, have you looked at the vent hose to make sure its not blocked?