Goodyear Duratracs vs. BFG KM2

Renagade119

Hey guys!!! Im new to Jeeping (got my first one in June!!) and Im looking into tires. I do quite a bit of reading and I see that BFG KM2's are real popular and seem like a classic. The other one I notice thats getting lots of praise is the Goodyear Duratracs. Ive been leaning towards the dt's but Im still not quite sure. My jeep is stock and Im 17 so I have a small budget, my Jeeps a daily driver and I do go offroading but not as much as I would like. Anybody got some opinions or reviews? Thanks

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
welcome to wayalife!!

regarding your question, is it safe to assume you get snow up in your neck of the woods? if so, i would get the duratracs for sure. they are a better tire to run in snow and icy conditions :yup:

Renagade119

Hahahahaha yes, thats something I should have clarified. Here is Canada we only have 2 months of summer :D That seems like pretty common knowledge, everyone seems to think that duratracs are the way to go for snow. Any other points youd like to add or anything else? Im willing to take every argument into consideration. Thanks guys!

Renagade119

I just had a brain wave, someone circle the calendar! I was talking to another guy about the duratracs and he said screw the dt's and go right for the MTR's. Whatta you think?

MTG

Caught the Bug
My duratracs did great in the snow. They have a ton of siping in the tread.

Last edited:

Renagade119

Thanks man, its looks like everyone loves the duratracs. I had posted on another forum just to get a wider variety of opinions and boy, the people over there must be anti-duratrac to the core. All i got in response was people asking me if i was stupid, asking what i was thinking, etc. They are all saying go with the MTR's. Whatta you guys think of those? They look pretty sweet

Indefatigable

Where in Canada?