DIY regearing and locker install

BChaffins

I am one to always do what I can myself. I've rebuilt many engines and a couple manual transmissions. I'm considering if I should attempt to install lockers and do my own regearing, or am I just thinking wrong.

I don't do these things because I'm cheap. I'm a computer engineer by trade that wrenches on the weekends. I enjoy the learning and am also very comfortable using gages and micrometers. Precision work is not something that scares me.

What I would like to hear from others is if axle rebuilding is something a person can do or if it's a skill that really requires experience to get right.

Thanks

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
There was a guy that was supposed to do a write up here but he was also supposed to have a big brake kit. People have been waiting for two years now.

After being right there watching my gear guy do mine, I can safely say that I'm glad I didn't do my own gears by myself without help the first time. It's definitely not a task you'd want to hurry thru.

BChaffins

My JK is a Sahara with a D30 front axle. My thought is to add a rear locker and regear when I upgrade the front axle. I was thinking of looking for a used D44 or a D44 housing and build my front axle. This will let me learn as I go and then just swap out the front when it's done.

My JK is a Sahara with a D30 front axle. My thought is to add a rear locker and regear when I upgrade the front axle. I was thinking of looking for a used D44 or a D44 housing and build my front axle. This will let me learn as I go and then just swap out the front when it's done.

If after watching the video OverlanderJK just posted up, you're still wanting to do your own, doing so on a donor axle prior to swapping it into your rig is the best way to go as you'd still have full use of your rig should it not go as fast or well as you'd like.

Speeddmn