Melted wires

Mikead40

So I'll start by saying that I'm completely new to working on my own jeep and am trying to learn. I recently tried installing some rock lights using the wayalife writeup. I used the platinum burner LED race lights (pic below). I used the switch that came with them since I don't have a daystar panel. Everything went great and they worked great for a few days. I went to put on my lights today and saw smoke behind the switch and then from under the hood. The wire from the battery (with the inline fuse) was melted. The fuse was not blown. Also, the wire going from the switch to the lights was melted right near the switch. All the other wires looked fine. Other than not using the daystar switch & and soldering on an 18g wire to the 22g wire coming off the battery (all the wires that came with the lights are 22g) so I would have enough to reach the switch in the passenger compartment, I wired these lights exactly as the write up showed.

Any ideas what could have caused this??

Also, I want to add a set for the rear, but want to use just one switch. From reading the writeup thread, I know I need to use relay - my two questions are where do most people put this relay and what amp relay would be reasonable for these LEDs (I cant find the wattage for these lights anywhere so I can't do the math - so I guess I'm wondering what is an average wattage for small LEDs)

Thanks in advance for any help you guy might be able to give, I really appreciate it

ATTACH]118168[/ATTACH]

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1420683200.701803.jpg

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1420683052.049878.jpg
    ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1420683052.049878.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 136
Last edited:

Mitrig