drag link end failure? flip kit and death wobble

desertrunner

so i developed a death wobble in my rig a few months ago and i have been slowly but surely fixing things that were causing/instigating it. One of the shops i had take a look at it pointed out something that i hadnt noticed in my search. The drag link end that connects to the knuckle appears to be popping in and out of the joint (as shown in the video below. i apologize for the crap cell vid quality but its the best i could get tonight, take my word for it it is definitely moving up and down like the ball joint has gone to crap). Im no expert but it seems to me like the drag link end shouldnt be hopping up and down like that. With that said i figured this would be a good opportunity to upgrade my drag link and do a flip kit, BUT in my search for death wobble causes i found that my stock track bar mount bolt hole was a bit warped so i had washers welded up to it to better hold it in place. now let the questions flow.... Is the hopping up and down of my drag link a problem that could be instigating my steering/death wobble issues? Drag link flip kits come with a track bar relocation bracket, will that work with my welded on washers or would i need to grind them off? Can i flip the drag link w/out using the track bar relocation bracket? (i understand that this wouldnt totally correct the steering geometry) Or is my best bet to buy something like the synergy drag link that is an upgrade from the stock one and just leave it mounted in the stock location and deal with the geometry being off and suck it up like i have for the last 30k miles i put on my jeep?

Last edited:

olram30

Not That Kind of Engineer
I'd go with a drag link flip. And yes, you need to use the track bar bracket with a flip. Not sure about the washers or how they were welded.
And make sure everything is torqued to specs

Last edited:

desertrunner