Problem After Lift, Wheels and Tires

tkd415

Hello Everyone

I'm new to Jeeps and currently have a 2007 Rubicon (48000 miles, 3.5 Rusty's Off Road Lift, Spidertrax 1.5 Wheel Spacers, Dick Cepek 17x9 DC-2 Wheels and Maxxis Trepador Tires) and since I installed the lift and wheels, I've experienced the dreaded Death Wobble. I've replaced the tie rod, checked all the bolts and noticed that I need to replace the ball joints (have Synergy ones ordered).

Most of you have been around this problem longer, so what am I missing? Am I headed in the right direction to clear this problem? I need to get this problem fied as this is my daily driver.

Thanks

Ah2014jk

Usual first place to look is tight ( proper tightness ) on all the steering bolts. If you say the ball joints are worn then that could be it as well.

Just don't let any convince you its steering stabilizer !

aldaman

Question, when you installed your lift:
Did you loosen all the bolts from the front upper & lower control arms?
Did you cycle the suspension, tighten/torqued the bolts with the full weight of the jeep on the ground (this avoids any possible binding)
Was the track bar torqued to specs.
Lastly, were those star washers removed from your rotors before installing the wheel spacers...
All of these things can be checked while you wait on the new ball joints.

Last edited:

Sgranhold

Having the same issue here...the death wobble but ONLY when braking and has only started since new 35" tires were added after lift. Ball joints?

Mjay

Are you guys sure you're actually experiencing death wobble?

Sounds maybe more like a shimmy or something. Perhaps tires out of balance? Worn out bushing/ball joints?

From my experience death wobble often has to do with worn out track bar bushings of loose track bar bolts. And it could quite literally make you shit your pants

Sgranhold