U-joints replacement

JK_Jimmy

Is there any good write ups for replacing the front axle U-joints? I've watched a couple videos on YouTube but I'm a noob so I like having hard copies. Any help with this is much appreciated.

JK_Jimmy

Also if anyone has any suggestions on what brand or kind of u-joints to buy please let me know. I'm thinking the spicer 760x. From what I read it's a little stronger and more durable than others.

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
Personally it's not worth my time to do it. I bring it to a shop and have them press the old ones out and put the new ones in. Only time I'll do it myself is on the trail.

That is for driveshaft u joints since I have yet to break an axle shaft u joint. I also carry spare axle shafts so I don't have to carry u joints.

JK_Jimmy

Personally it's not worth my time to do it. I bring it to a shop and have them press the old ones out and put the new ones in. Only time I'll do it myself is on the trail.

That is for driveshaft u joints since I have yet to break an axle shaft u joint. I also carry spare axle shafts so I don't have to carry u joints.

Yea my problem is with the front axle u-joints. Called my mechanic and it would be around $360 with parts and labor so I'm definitely going to do it myself.

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
Yea my problem is with the front axle u-joints. Called my mechanic and it would be around $360 with parts and labor so I'm definitely going to do it myself.

Wtf? Go to a different shop. With a press they should be able to do it in like 15 minutes. Buy the parts online and bring them in with the axle shaft. Take the shaft out yourself.

JK_Jimmy

Wtf? Go to a different shop. With a press they should be able to do it in like 15 minutes. Buy the parts online and bring them in with the axle shaft. Take the shaft out yourself.