Oil leak from front axle

jjlong

I assume this oil leak means a bad seal, but my buddy said it a sign my axle may be bent! Is that true or he just F'in with me? By the way, I'm new to site and LOVE IT! Wayalife stickers are in the mail! :cool:

Attachments

• 1429729788529.jpg
    1429729788529.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 213

ERAUGrad04

Caught the Bug
It actually is a sign the axle could be bent. Any additional details on the vehicle? Year, milage, lift, tires, etc.

Have you done any recent wheeling?

If you replace the seal and it begins leaking again, then you have pretty much narrowed it down to a bent axle.

olram30

Not That Kind of Engineer
I feel your pain, just noticed the same on our 1 year old, stock jeep.😭

Attachments

• 1429733505939.jpg
    1429733505939.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 191

jjlong

It actually is a sign the axle could be bent. Any additional details on the vehicle? Year, milage, lift, tires, etc.

Have you done any recent wheeling?

If you replace the seal and it begins leaking again, then you have pretty much narrowed it down to a bent axle.

Ugh! 08 JKUR w/ 105k miles. 3.5 Rough Country lift w/ 35's. And I go wheel'n about twice a month.

ERAUGrad04

Caught the Bug
Ugh! 08 JKUR w/ 105k miles. 3.5 Rough Country lift w/ 35's. And I go wheel'n about twice a month.

With those miles, it really could just be a bad seal. That said, with those miles and the wheeling you mentioned, it could be a bent axle too... :rolleyes:

Probably would be worth it to change the seal and keep an eye on it.

jjlong

With those miles, it really could just be a bad seal. That said, with those miles and the wheeling you mentioned, it could be a bent axle too... :rolleyes:

Probably would be worth it to change the seal and keep an eye on it.

Will do, thanks for the advice

hudginsja

I just picked my jeep up from the dealer today. My 14' has 15k miles on it and they replaced both seals under warranty. Took them a day.

CJW