Warn Zeon 10 vs Powerplant

SmokinV10

Caught the Bug
I have a friend of mine who wants to swap his power plant for my Zeon 10-s so I could ditch my power tank and have on-board air built into the compressor. I called Warn today to inquire about the compatibility in power cables (his cables have some wear on the shielding so he wanted me to keep the cables on my Zeon). When I told them about the swap, they told me "why would you do that swap? Your Zeon is a better winch". I figured that the feedback about as honest feedback as any. Can any corroborate why the zeon is a better winch? Design? Performance? If I were to keep the Zeon, i could either replace my ARB single compressor under the hood or add an ARB dual compressor under the seat.....

I have no experience with either - so take that for whats it worth. However.com if I was faced with the same situation I would take Warn's advice and keep your current winch and maybe buy a ARB twin and put it under the passenger seat for airing up and maybe adding a tank later for tools. Plus I know you are considering a possible motor swap and I would preserve as much grill space as possible for cooling. It might seem like over kill with 2 air systems but you would be doing the same with the power-plant.

I will be doing a axle swap soon and am torn between the small High Output compressor you already have for my new lockers or doing the Twin as I am impatient when airing up. However I don't want the twin under the hood and that is why I mentioned it under the seat as I have seen others do.

Once again Just white boarding here as I have no experience with the 2 winches.

Rancho

Caught the Bug
So we have the Power Plant on our JK-8, and I have the Zeon 10 on my JKU.
Both do their job, and that is pull you out, but MAN my Zeon is MUCH faster and compact than the Power Plant. Also the rope vs cable thing too.
The Power Plant is nice for airing up though....

20140416_112415_zpsdbe74267.jpg