Spare tire carrier.

Cavscout263

So I am going to be getting 35" tires on 17" wheels. I was wondering if the stock spare tire carrier can carry it? Or do I need to get an aftermarket spare tire carrier? I have a 2011 Jeep wrangler unlimited Sahara

OverlanderJK

Resident Smartass
With proper bump stops on the tailgate you will be fine. The tire needs to be pressed firmly against the stops to keep it from rattling.

jknikos

I have been doing this for more than 3 years. You will be fine except you are desert racing or jumping with your jeep.... :driving:

David1tontj

My brother has been carrying his 35" tire on the factory carrier for like 4 years. Like overlander said, just as long as it is tight against the bump stops and does not rattle, should be fine.
He also just recently made a cool little platform that goes into his receiver hitch to take some of the weight off of it.. This should really help. I don't have a pic of it, but he will probably chime in..

dwmgcs

I ran a 35 on my stock carrier for over 5 years with no problems and I had wheels with 3.75 backspace so it didn't seat against the rubber cushions on the tailgate and I had no problems whatsoever other than I got rear ended once and it broke the carrier, but that was not the fault of the 35 tire on it.

It depends a bit on the type of trail riding you do or plan to do...

I agree that the stock carrier is all you need for the road if you control the wiggle, but IMO not for heavy trail use. My wife's tailgate is tweaked from the previous owner sliding down a hill and hitting a small tree. So, if the trails you run are tight and slick, you might think about an alternative. Many are also concerned about dropping off a ledge and the ledge grabbing the tire. I haven't seen this, but I do see where it could be an issue.

To counter my thoughts, EVOLander has been running a stock carrier and a heavy 37 I believe. Lord knows that thing has seen some trail action.

20jk08

re: