Citizen Band Radio help please

bladeolson

I want to get a CB in my 15 Rubicon Unlimited... I have a few questions..

- are the integrated mic/radios any good?

- I am rather a gadget geek.. What's the "top of line" CB? Does it even matter?

-Mounting.. I saw rugged ridge mounts.. Are those good? Seems easy to install and not requiring drilling , but seems it may obstruct mirror. Thoughts?

- Antenna... Firestick seems good. I like this fat looking stick from visual point of view. I'm confused about length though.

- wiring it up.... Saw some videos on YouTube but all I could find looks like Hack jobs. I want super clean install. Recommendations on install or a shop that does this well would be appreciated.

Sorry for tons of questions I am a total newbie!

Blade

Kalums

Eddie did an awesome write up on Project JK on how to install but I can't really help with the rest sry

MarkW13

I ran my antenna off the tailgate. Evo makes a nice bracket. You can run the wire out the vent or through the capped hole next to the vent (pass side). Turned out pretty nice.

Cobra seems to be a very reliable brand for the full size radios with lots of options. I wouldn't look past the hand mic controlled units either. They don't have the same versatility as the larger models, but they mount a lot easier.

TLW1022

I mounted mine off the Footmans Loop, about $5 worth of hardware from Home Depot. All wiring is hidden, no need for external speaker, easy to get to & looks cool :thumb:

This CB is small & works very well. Bigger CB's do have more features to them but for me aren't needed, the only thing I would like to have is a built in meter but that's only really needed at set up.

This one has a outlet for PA Speaker that I mounted behind the front bumper, it also has a channel 9/19 button for quick access to those channels. It has been rained on several times with no issues, all vent holes are on the bottom, if I do need to replace it down the road it cost @$50

Attachments