Help! My 3.8 is scaring me

JakeJK

My 3.8 is making an awful rattling sound any time it is under any stress and suggestions besides the exhaust manifold heat shield being broken? Kinda nervous considering it's the first car I've bought and it's only got 52k miles on it 2010 model.

MattAlpha

Caught the Bug
I have a 2007 JKUR and I switched to 10W-30 (Dino oil) at the first oil change and noticed a small decrease in engine noise. I'm not an expert but I've been running it with that grade of oil for the last 5 years with no issues so far. I'm at 69,500ish on the odometer. I normally only find the engine to be about a half a quart low when I change the oil just past the 3,000 mile mark.

Jeep2010

My 3.8 is making an awful rattling sound any time it is under any stress and suggestions besides the exhaust manifold heat shield being broken? Kinda nervous considering it's the first car I've bought and it's only got 52k miles on it 2010 model.

I don't know exactly what I heard but it sounded somewhat similar to a pre-ignition thing? Try running 91 octane in it. It cured mine up and I have the 3.8 with 136k on it and ever since I did that it helped. Maybe I'm way off but food for thought I guess.

JakeJK

I don't know exactly what I heard but it sounded somewhat similar to a pre-ignition thing? Try running 91 octane in it. It cured mine up and I have the 3.8 with 136k on it and ever since I did that it helped. Maybe I'm way off but food for thought I guess.

Thanks! Put some on it just now hopefully it'll help

JakeJK

I can't hear anything on that short video

I know it was hard to get it to make the noise, it only happens when running at 2k rpm so it was hard to catch the noise riding by, it doesn't do it in neutral so I can't record it in park I'll try again when I have some more time

longarmwj