Squeaking sound

jkwebbie

So I have a random squeaking sound coming from the front end of the Jeep, but here's were it gets weird, it only happens when I'm turning to the right. I have wheel spacers on front and rear, but I've already checked them a while back after I put them on to make sure they were good, so I'm pretty sure that's not it. And I haven't been off road in over a month so I know its not from that because the squeak started a few days ago. Do any of you guys have any idea?????? :eek:

LaSkyWkr

I am not a mechanic...but last month I had a weird 'squeak' while turning at low speeds...turned out to be bearings. It was BAD...the thing on the right...used to look like bearing on the left ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1436496560.085869.jpg .

LaSkyWkr

ok...in all fairness...I have a 1968...purchasing was cheap(under $30 a set...not sure for a newer jeep)...learning to install seemed to cost a lot.

thardy

Banned
Well shit, I was hopping that wasn't it lol. About how much is a new set of bearings?

Looks like you can pick them up for about $80-90 a side. I'd recommend changing both sides at the same time. Good news is that they're fairly easy to change these days. Also a good time to do some front brake maintenance since you have to remove them to get to the hub/bearing assembly.

thardy

Banned
ok...in all fairness...I have a 1968...purchasing was cheap(under $30 a set...not sure for a newer jeep)...learning to install seemed to cost a lot.

Yeah the newer ones are a lot easier. Instead of having to pack the bearings, etc., it's actually an assembly now that just bolts on.

jkwebbie

Looks like you can pick them up for about $80-90 a side. I'd recommend changing both sides at the same time. Good news is that they're fairly easy to change these days. Also a good time to do some front brake maintenance since you have to remove them to get to the hub/bearing assembly.