Sizing bumpstops

Warebear

Hello all. So I am trying to decide how to measure the size bump stop I need. In my mind, I'm thinking that I'll flex until the tire gets close to rubbing anything, measure the distance that would be filled by said bumpstops, and get that length. Am I right?

Wethy

thats definitely one way to do it. I believe the general idea is to size bumps according to your lift in most cases. So a 2.5" lift would have 2.5" bump stops to prevent overcompressing the coil.i believe if your running a drag link flip you need atleast 3" bumps jn the front also. Im sure more experienced users will chime in though im still fairly new to solid axle lifts but have read a tonne and asked a tonne of questions myself ha ha :p

How much lift do you have now?

Warebear

Well I have the EVO leveling kit, which I believe is 2 in the front and 1 in the back? However I plan on running high clearance fenders and 37s, don't want them to rub anything

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Hello all. So I am trying to decide how to measure the size bump stop I need. In my mind, I'm thinking that I'll flex until the tire gets close to rubbing anything, measure the distance that would be filled by said bumpstops, and get that length. Am I right?

You want to run about the same bump stop extension as you have lift. Preventing rubbing at a full flex can be a perk of bump stop extensions but the primary purpose of them it to help prevent the over compression of your coils.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Well I have the EVO leveling kit, which I believe is 2 in the front and 1 in the back? However I plan on running high clearance fenders and 37s, don't want them to rub anything

Good luck with that! The lowest I could run 37's effectively and not rub much at a full flex is 3". You can run really tall bump stops but you won't have much stuff.

Benito

Caught the Bug