Tips for choosing a line for a newb

FuriousDz

Im new to wheelin on the rocks, did better the second time out then the first.

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to share some of the knowledge you use when choosing a line other than keep the big stuff under the tires and away from the middle.

I know there are many factors such as terrain, driving and rig capabilities and some i probably dont even realize. I was just hoping to get a little insight and maybe some tips you guys use, maybe some dos and donts.

Hope to hear from the experienced wheelers on here.

Thanks

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Great thread!! Do you have a manual or automatic? Also, do you have a Rubicon or Sport/X or Sahara?

FuriousDz

6 speed unlimited sport
3.73's
3.5 rk
37" toyo mts

Im going to address the axles and gears right after the winter. I know that 30 pushing those big tires isnt going to last long

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
6 speed unlimited sport
3.73's
3.5 rk
37" toyo mts

Im going to address the axles and gears right after the winter. I know that 30 pushing those big tires isnt going to last long

Well, when you upgrade your axles, I would definitely regear at the same time. Pushing 37's with a 6-speed, 3.73 gears and a 2.72:1 transfer case isn't exactly going to help you on the rocks. If you can afford to buy a used Rubicon t-case, that'll help out a lot too.