Ball Joint Replacement... How Hard is it?

Briguy114

Started having some death wobble issues recently. Checked track bar torque, brackets, bushings, and all checks out. Next suspect is the ball joints. Some info on the Jeep. 2007 2dr X model. All stock except for rubicon shocks, and some aftermarket wheels with 4.6" backspacing with stock sized tires. 62k miles. I haven't put a dial indicator on the ball joints yet but I plan to.

There is a local Jeep shop, but if I can tackle this on my own I would like to save the money and learn a little bit more about my Jeep in the process. I'm no mechanic but I do have basic skills. What say you? Is this something that I can tackle on my own?

Benito

Caught the Bug
I was looking at the harbor freight ball joint press kit, or renting one

I just did them myself... I rented a universal ball joint press and the 4x4 adapter set from ¿o'reillys? Those kits still didn't have all the right adapters. I had to use a deep socket in combination with the kits. Need less to say I was able to get them done but wouldn't do it again unless I get the right tools

jjlong

^^^^^What he said^^^^^^
Did mine for the first time, took about 3 hrs but stopped frequently to watch the videos. The local Auto parts store should give you a free 24 hr rental tool.

13_gecko_rubi

Caught the Bug
My local advanced auto had the 30 piece ball joint kit with all the right adapters. Made it easy. Oreilys only had the 8 piece first time I tried it and had to use some old 1" drive sockets too like others said. I'd try advanced if there is one by you and specifically ask if they have the big kit.

mudmobeeler

Caught the Bug
Anybody interested in purchasing a ball joint press check out rock auto. I bought the exact same kit that Oreillys rents out and sells but I got it for half the price Oreillys sells it for. I also ordered the extra adapter kit at half price also.