Unlimited Sport or Rubicon for new build?

FlFlatlander

So, my question is where to start - wrangler unlimited sport or rubicon. I'm sure I'm not the first to ask this question.

This will be my first venture into the land of building up a Jeep. I have other vehicles and my use for this is to support my outdoor habits (MTB, Surf, Kite, etc), basically something I can get muddy, be muddy, and then just hose off when the wife insists. All of these require a fair bit of highway driving so onroad comfort is probably a priority but do plan on occasionally something more than just the beach and trails leading to trailheads. My initial thoughts have been to use AEV products for the bumpers, hood, and wheels (i just like the way they look and seem to be quality). Based on this forum I have been looking at the EVO products for the lift package. As I said, I am completely new to this and clearly don't understand the details.

Welcome to WAL. just depends on your end game and budget. Rubicons come factory with several things sports do not, all of which can be bought aftermarket, and probably of better quality.

Edit: to add to that, most of those parts that Rubicons come with are more than enought for your average wheeling. As said, just depends on how hard your gonna play.

Last edited:

FlFlatlander

While I am less concerned about budget, I just hate spending money on things I won't use or will just discard. I guess it comes down to is having the improved front axle, 4.10 gearing, and differentials worth the extra $. I would want at least the 3.73 gearing if Im planning on 35s wouldn't I?

Pyro1415

In my experience 35s and smaller tires a rubicon is pretty hard to beat. I wish I had started with that because I wouldn't be in such a rush to upgrade now. I vote rubicon unless you plan on going really extreme really soon.

vitodivita

I had the same dilemma and ultimately decided on a sport. Regeared it to 4.88 two weeks later, 35s and new suspension.