Need advice....D30 vs 44

Matador

Hey all,

Looking for some advice here.

I currently have run 35's on my Dana 30 and won a set of 4.88 gears. I plan on going up to a 37" tire down the road but lots of life left on my 35's.

Option A. Install 4.88 gears and lockers in my Dana 30 and 44 rear Probably run me about $2500 to install gears and locker up front. I could leave my LSD in the rear for now or throw a locker in the rear for more money.

Option B. Buy Rubicon axles that are used but built up a little with RCV's in front and chromo in rear....replace the 5.38 gears with something more manageable. (this option is a lot more costly) Probably cost me around $6-7k installed

What would you do? I have been wheeling with my existing setup for a few years.....but now it's time to regear and plan for down the road.

Thoughts? is there another option you would recommend?

Matador

Should dump as much money as you can into that Dana 30. After all it's only money...

;)

LOL.....that's what I was thinking!! Someone recommended doing that....I am not sold...no sense dumping money in it when it won't work with 37" tire etc...

I guess i'll throw the gears in....throw a rear locker in and just watch for a front 44

jorgelrod

Hooked
Install 4.88's f/r and locker in the rear. Leave the front open until you are ready for a new front axle.

my plans for a PR44 took a drastic turn, so I took this route except that I put a TrueTrac in the front in addition to the Rear Locker. Puerto Rico is mostly mud so I'm sure I can last my 30 until the $$$ comes for a PR44

Ok so let me play devils advocate....so lets say you leave the gusseted d30 open, and have conservative gearing (say...3.21-4.56). Then you mount 37s. Where is the real weak point compared to if you were running the same setup on a factory d44?

jkwebbie