Tie Rod

jonnyb19

Just bought a jeep and it has a 4 inch pro comp lift. The passenger side tie Rod end is damaged. My question is, would this cause wobble? It feels like death wobble to me, but I'm not an expert and this is my first jeep. It really only happens when I hit bumps at slow speeds (15-30mph). It feels fine and has never happened at higher speeds ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1445968361.883368.jpg

WJCO

Meme King
Just bought a jeep and it has a 4 inch pro comp lift. The passenger side tie Rod end is damaged. My question is, would this cause wobble? It feels like death wobble to me, but I'm not an expert and this is my first jeep. It really only happens when I hit bumps at slow speeds (15-30mph). It feels fine and has never happened at higher speeds View attachment 171220

DW is almost uncontrollable and will make you scared to death to hit any bump. If you don't have this, then it's just bump steer or a shimmy. Either way, a loose tie rod could cause both. Is the joint loose or just a torn boot? Either way it should be replaced, but if it doesn't have play, you probably have something else going on.

JAGS

Hooked
Just bought a jeep and it has a 4 inch pro comp lift. The passenger side tie Rod end is damaged. My question is, would this cause wobble? It feels like death wobble to me, but I'm not an expert and this is my first jeep. It really only happens when I hit bumps at slow speeds (15-30mph). It feels fine and has never happened at higher speeds View attachment 171220

That would be bump steer. Could be tie rod. Could be you have something loose and need to check torque. Might not hurt to also do a drag link flip since you are running 4"+ lift.

I'm sure others can share more specifics on how to fix, things to check. [emoji106][emoji106]

jonnyb19