Shocks, shocks, shocks.

flectarn

Let me start by saying I am very new to this, and I may not explain my question in the correct terms I need to; so bare with me.

I have a Rock Krawler 2.5 lift with Fox 2.0 Shocks. I want to gain another inch with a 3.5 lift and it seems that I may need to replace my shocks with it to adjust for the height increase.

I spoke with an RK rep today and he recommended I stay away from the fox series of shocks as they are too soft in combination with their triple rate coils and bottom out. He recommended a bilstein 5100 series shock as it is a more firm shock. Is this truly an issue? It seems that a lot of people run this combination of suspension and don't have any issues. I am also reluctant to give up my awesome street ride for the 5100 series shock which seems to ride way too firm for a lot of people.

Also, would I be any better with the Evo coils with said Fox shocks?

Thanks!

I am sure I will have more questions arise as the thread goes on.

Petzl88

I can't answer your questions about the Fox shocks but I have the Rancho 9000 shocks and I love them. You can dial them in to where they need to be.

noroad

Evo coils are soft, I didn't like them as I am a fast driver and wasn't feeling them in the high speed turns. But that was with a soft set of ranchos. so if you want a soft ride I would get the evo coils but maybe a firmer shock. As for the Fox 2.0s, I have them and like them, although I did just blow a shock after 50k on it.

Ddays

Hooked
I have a RK 3.5" X factor lift with the Fox 2.0 adjustable shocks and I really like them. I have a couple hundred miles on this setup, and so far I don't have anything negative to say about them. The highway ride is very good. I have them set on '3' and want to try them at a firmer setting. I need to get off-road with this thing to see how well I like them there...

flectarn