What's the diff D44-PR44-PR44/60hybrid-PR60

JAGS

Hooked
Hey eddie or others with high level knowledge. Would you mind sharing a bit on the differences between these axles in terms of capabilities and when/why you would want or need one over the other. There's a current thread on the 60 and some info here and there on the PR44, but nothing to kind of explain in a cliff note yet educational fashion.

All I know is my 12' Rubi has D44 and they "can be" reinforced a bit. I'm also a noob, so speak in noobish tongue. :crazyeyes:

JAGS

Hooked
Well, eventually hoping to go 37s and get skilled enough to consistently do moderate/heavy trails and crawling like on JKX etc. :crazyeyes:

Still stock at the moment as this is my first jeep and more just asking for general knowledge. Lots of confusing info out there so kind of hoping for "this axle = this, this this." Some people to try to push the limits and run 40s on d30s or D44s and get blown up on the forums. Yet others will chime in and say this, that the other is "just fine."

So as a noob, I'm just curious as the various axles compared and rated and commented on in simple form in one thread. Not just "my uncle" runs his this way. And yes, I think for most of us budget is a consideration or we'd all be running the new PR80s.

StrizzyChris

A pr44 has an increased pinion angle built in, stronger knuckles, thicker axle tubes than stock and increased ground clearance from stock.

A pr44/60 has a dana 44 pumpkin (same as the pr44) and same axle tubes as a pr44 but has upgraded hubs, spindles, brakes and axles.

A pr60 has a larger diameter but thinner walled axle tube, and really just EVERY axle component is improved. Now when i said the wall was thinner in the pr 60, i want u to understand that that has nothing to do with the strength. A steel tube not only gains its strength through its thickness but also as important is its diameter.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member