2" Body Lift for 2009 JKU

JoeB-JKURX

My daughter has a very clean 2009 JKU and wants to run 35" tires and new wheels with the proper backspacing. My son-in-law went to the local 4 Wheel Parts store to get a budget boost kit (spacers and shock relocation brackets). It seemed like a reasonable plan to me. One of the clerks at the store talked him out of the BB and sold him a 2" (plastic spacers) body lift that was, then, installed at that store. IMO it looks a bit goofy with the gap between the back bumper and the body.

I'm no expert on Jeep (particularly JK) suspensions and related issues but I do read a lot (and have my own lifted 2014 JKU). I can't recall anyone on any of the forums recommending a body lift of more than one inch and have seen several that say that, though BLs were common on TJs, BLs on JKs are not necessary or even appropriate.

Any thoughts on a BL versus a BB would be appreciated. I'd also appreciate help in identifying any issues that a BB might have with respect to handling, shift linkages, etc.

Thx

cozdude

Guy with a Red 2-Door
My daughter has a very clean 2009 JKU and wants to run 35" tires and new wheels with the proper backspacing. My son-in-law went to the local 4 Wheel Parts store to get a budget boost kit (spacers and shock relocation brackets). It seemed like a reasonable plan to me. One of the clerks at the store talked him out of the BB and sold him a 2" (plastic spacers) body lift that was, then, installed at that store. IMO it looks a bit goofy with the gap between the back bumper and the body.

I'm no expert on Jeep (particularly JK) suspensions and related issues but I do read a lot (and have my own lifted 2014 JKU). I can't recall anyone on any of the forums recommending a body lift of more than one inch and have seen several that say that, though BLs were common on TJs, BLs on JKs are not necessary or even appropriate.