How do you transport your Jeep Cross country?

zerorex

Hello all! New to the forum and had a question about getting your jeep cross country.

I'm just getting into jeeping and my fiance and I are thinking of taking a trip to Ouray Colorado.We live in NY so its about a 3000mile round trip drive. I was wondering if you rent a flatbed for your jeeps or if you just drive it and say screw it.

My jeep is stock for the most part but will be doing significant upgrades over the summer (about $13k in upgrades overall...she said yes to the upgrades thank god) and just didnt know if it was a bad idea to drive a lifted jeep with 35 nittos cross country. The trip would be after the upgrades. Thanks again for all of the help! :thumb:

zerorex

Piginajeep and I drove his jeep from Florida to California on 35" Nitto's
http://wayalife.com/showthread.php?t=30188

Nice!! I've never done that far of a trip before (Which is why I'm kinda worried), but also was wondering if adding the miles would be an issue. I mean its a 2015 and you'll probably laugh at me but in one year I have 6k miles haha. I'm a teacher and dont live far from my job, but during the summer time we usually just go hiking or camping. This summer with the upgrades we want to make it all about offroading. Hopefully if you guys do some meetups in the NY metro area i'd love to come and learn. I got a small taste of offroading in upstate ny and pa and well now im hooked lol

Fridge81

I drove from Southwest AZ ,up to Vegas and to St. Louis and back last summer on my 35" Nittos. Zero issues. That was with close to 100,000 miles on her. Have trust in your jeep grasshopper. If you are good to it, it'll be good to you. I think you would regret trailering your jeep on such an epic trip. Have fun!

zerorex

Have any of you ever done the trails in Ouray or Black Bear Pass in Colorado? Any advice for a beginner? Both look like a ton of fun

RMC2

Caught the Bug
I use my gas pedal to haul mine.