07 auto Trans rebuild

Mitrig

Ok so going to keep this short and sweet. My transmission started acting up suddenly and poof, possibly going to have to rebuild it. It had about 80k miles on it. Sad part I flushed all fluids after every trip and made sure everything was always clean and maintained. But that's just the luck of the cards.

So question for all those running the 42rle auto...has anyone had to rebuild it, is it possible to beef up this tranny? Addition cooler? Addition clutches? Larger clutch? I've never had to do something like this before I'd like to do some research and understand more. I'm a mech engineer specializing in suspension so transmission is black box magic in a way to me. I understand how they work but have never had to work on one.

What can be done to beef it up? Is it worth doing anything in addition or back to stock rebuild better off?

JKCRWLR

Not the luck of the cards at all. The 42rle is true piece of crap.
I recently had to replace mine in my 2010 JKRU at just over 54k miles. Sadly I had only had the Jeep for a month at the time.
When the trans shop pulled the transmission they found the markings inside the bell housing that indicated the transmission had already been rebuilt.
So I began researching as you are and asking questions of whether it is common with the 42rle to fail.
The 42rle was built all around Chrysler wanting a transmission that they could produce on the cheap (for them) without any care as to their longevity.

Yes, you should definitely run an auxiliary cooler. I just installed a Hayden 679 Rapid-cool rated suitable for 30,000 lb. GVWR.
Could be overkill but I do not care.

I went with ATS Diesel's 42rle transmission. It is expensive in relation to other options but they beef it up where they can and where it matters.
They beef up the clutch packs, pump assembly and valve body.
Most important to me was that they back it with a 5yr./500k mile warranty. And no, I did not type too many zeroes in the mileage.