Metal shavings in front diff??

Jeepfan30

I'm not a gear expert by any means, but is this too much metal shaving? Had gears done 10,000 miles ago and did a 500 mile fluid change, this is what I see today. Front diff makes a very very low pitch rumble that I can only hear between 5-20 mph. Pitch doesn't change on coast or deceleration. Doesn't change when turning left, or right. I am kinda thinking bad carrier bearing? Pulling the cover now to take a look.
View attachment 185972

Evil

Take some pics of it when you get the cover off. That does not look good. Check the ring gear edges for roughness.

Evil

Its hard to tell from the pic but do any of the teeth look or feel chewed up on the edges? Can you rotate it by hand smoothly and if so do you hear any metal on metal crunching?

WJCO

Meme King
That's a lot of fucken metal. Did you do the gears or have someone else do them? If a shop did them, should be under 12/12.

Jeepfan30

Shop did them, lots of metal for sure. Teeth all look good, I don't see anything visually wrong inside, smooth operation.

Evil

Any way to pull the driveshaft and see if your pinion is loose? If it moves in and out its loose. This would cause a "low speed rumble"

Jeepfan30

Pinion is solid. I tried pulling in and out, and up and down with no movement. The sound I hear is comparable to wheel speed, not driveshaft speed.

WJCO

Meme King
Pinion is solid. I tried pulling in and out, and up and down with no movement. The sound I hear is comparable to wheel speed, not driveshaft speed.

You could always pull the carrier bearing caps and inspect the bearings. Just make sure you know what to torque them back to and keep any shims in order. You won't disturb any of your differential measurements (backlash, pinion bearing preload, pinion depth) by doing that as long as you put everything back in the same spot.

Evil